My Problem with Social Media Evangelicals

 I get a lot of emails and Facebook postings about prayer. Most are re-posts and unoriginal, but the message is always the same: God is great, Jesus is our Lord, have you found God? Have you found Jesus? (This later one amuses me as any Christian worth his salt knows: God and Jesus are one and the same…if you found one, you’ve found the other!) They are all evangelical by nature, and I understand; if you believe the indoctrination of Christian crusade camps the world over, your only job is to carry the message forward. And it’s this messaging that prompts me to write today.
I was born, baptized, and raised in a Catholic household. I was even an altar boy for eight years (and no, I was not “touched” by God, although, with the cash settlements going out these days, a little touch and tickle might have paid for my retirement). No, even with my religious background, I am not, by way of full disclosure, a religious person. But neither am I agnostic. I believe in God…I just happen to believe that my relationship with Him is very intimate and personal. I also believe that if God wanted people to return to his flock, he wouldn’t need an army of over-zealous, pious, acne-pocked faced teenagers to do his dirty work. I sort of imagine if he wanted you, he would know how to get your attention real quick, unequivocally, and in a hurry.
As I mentioned, I believe my relationship with Him is personal. And this is where I take issue with evangelicals. Where they spend countless hours during their day “preaching the word”, those are hours that might be better spent actually going out into the world and doing “Christian” acts; I don’t know, like feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, healing the sick, feeding the poor…you know, that kind of thing. Instead, they don’t have much time left at the end of a recruiting day for anything more than a quick re-grouping to compare notes and plan for tomorrow’s orgy of recruitment. And I also find it repugnant to use social media to sound off about how much of a Christian you are and how much I am not.

Additionally, how conveniently they skip over passages within their own bibles that speak to their ultimate rewards in Heaven; why then are they seeking to publish their every holy thought and action here on earth so that others might know how “Christ-like” they are and how much I am not?. Nothing would, in my opinion, be less Christian. Can you see Jesus going around saying, “Hey Peter, did you see how I changed that water into wine? Pretty cool, huh. Bet you can’t do that!”
Mother Teresa once said she almost never had time to stop and pray…she had too much work to do. Her work was, in essence, her prayers.  C.S. Lewis, a major Christian apologist, also said, “My relationship with God is an intensely personal one.) Yet there is nothing intensely, or even remotely, personal about 10,000 people filling up Fulton County Stadium and singing hymns all day while just outside, on the streets of Atlanta, thousands of homeless men, women, and children fight just to survive another cold night.
I guess what I’m trying to say is enough already with the emails and postings. Get off your collective cultish asses and actually do something Christ-like. Forget about me and go take care of one of God’s children. Your message is better understood in action.

3 thoughts on “My Problem with Social Media Evangelicals

  1. I find the assumption that only those who have found Jesus will be saved is oputrageous! What is saved? not going to hell? If God really is loving, I say to them , then he’s not going to torture or destroy half his creation, including those who don;t speak English, and therefore call Him Allah!

    • Ms. Davies,

      I have just spent an enjoyable early morning (4am-6am) reading your blog. It was such an inspiring way to start my day. It also reminded me how neglectful I’ve been with my own writing (by which I mean my blog ‘insightsandobservations’. Thanks for unwittingly providing the impetus to step away from my poetry and just write again. I appreciate your comments, and coming from you, I am touched that anything I wrote might provoke a response from such a professional…but I won’t let that go to my head. I would invite you to read my poetry…just to see if you feel I’m spinning my wheels….but if you do, would you start from the end and work your way back to the beginning? I’m a bit embarrassed about my early work, and quite proud of the later. My blog is http://www.dlmchale.com. I would value your critique. Again, thank you for your writing. I have bookmarked your blog to utilize as a reminder that great work can come from perseverance.

      • Thank you so much for your very flattering comments! I hope you manage to catch up on your sleep.!
        I read and liked your last poem before I found this message from you, and will have to go back and read some more… I’m really not the right person to ask to read your poetry, as I only like some poetry…
        I’ ve found myself that writing a blog has been a marvellous opportunity to discover what one thinks, and a wonderful discipline in writing honestly, clearly and directly

Leave a Reply

